Australian Visa Types and Their Duration

Australia Visa 2020

Australian Visa Types

In the article below, we will inform you about various kinds of visas that can allow you to enter Australia. There are a total of forty-five countries whose citizens can obtain one or two types of Australian visas. You can get an Australian permit by completing a simple application process. The two broad categories of Australian visa are:

  • The ETA
  • eVisitor visa

Both of these visas allow the holder to stay in Australia for a maximum of 90 days. Eligible visitors are permitted to visit Australia as many times as they want within one year through these visas. It will enable the holder to visit

  • On a holiday
  • To meet family
  • To visit friends
  • For business trips

Business trips

However, for business activities, there are certain limitations. Business activities that are allowed include

  • Making general inquiries regarding employment or business
  • Investigating, negotiating, signing or reviewing business contracts
  • Making an official government visit
  • Participating in seminars, trade fairs, and conferences if you are not getting paid for it.

For studies

If you want to study or train in Australia, you can use this visa for up to three months. However, studying must not be the only reason to visit.

If you are not eligible for an eVisa or want to stay for more than three months, you must use other options depending on your reason for visiting. These options could be obtaining a visitor visa for

  • Business
  • Tourism
  • Study
  • Work

Basic Types of Australian Visa

1.    ETA

This type of visa is allowed to people from Canada, Brunei, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, United States, and more. With this type of visa, you will be allowed to stay for up to 90 days with one year for as many times as you want. It can be used for business, transit, and Tourism purposes. However, there are some countries whose people are not eligible for this kind of visa. The citizens of those particular counties can go for another option that is an eVisitor visa. For more information on ETA visit:

Electronic Travel Authority or the ETA Visa

2.    eVisitor

The eVisitor, also known as subclass 651, is a subtype of an Australian visa. It allows the holder to visit Australia for

  • Tourism
  • Transit
  • Business trips

You can stay for up to 90 days, and it is valid for 12 months. It is allowed for European Union member countries and some other countries as well. For more information on this visa visit:

3.    Visitor visa

It can be obtained for business or tourism purposes. Its duration can be 3, 6, or 12 months. However, the parents of Australian citizens may get a more extended validity visa. This type of Australian visa is also called subclass 600. An Australian consulate and embassy can obtain it. For more information, visit the following link:

4.    Transit visa

This kind of visa, also known as subclass 771, allows passport holders to go through Australia to another destination. It will enable the holder to stay in Australia for a maximum of 72 hours as long as they have a permit to travel to their destination and a confirmed booking within the specified time. If you have any other kind of Australian visa, you do not require this visa for transit purposes.

No matter which visa type is required, it is necessary to submit a visa application before making other arrangements for your trip, like booking flights or arranging accommodation.

5.    Work visas

If you want to work in Australia as an employee or an entrepreneur, you should apply for a work visa. If you have the skills and qualifications that the Australian government needs, you will be invited to apply for a visa using SkillSelect. Moreover, an employer or state can nominate you for a visa. For more specific Australian visa types of work visa visit the following


6.    Student visa

If you want to study in Australia, you should apply for a student visa. It is also known as the subclass 500. It is valid for up to 5 years or per your enrollment. This type of visa allows you to participate in an eligible course of study. For more details, visit the following